The club for runners in Saratoga Springs, NY

     Saratoga Stryders Officers, 2020-2021

     President--Tom Law

Tom Law, president of the Stryders since 2016, is a native of Saratoga Springs who started running with the successful Saratoga High School cross country and track teams in the late 1980s. He later competed collegiately at Castleton State College in Vermont and the State University of New York at Cortland. A four-time marathon finisher and frequent participant in team relay runs locally and around the country, Tom is also an avid trail runner who also runs two to three half marathons annually. Tom is managing editor of ST Publishing Inc., which produces the popular daily racing newspaper The Saratoga Special and the website, and senior writer for Mid-Atlantic Thoroughbred magazine. He won a pair of writing awards in 2018 - the David F. Woods Memorial Award for best the Preakness Stakes story and the Joe Hirsch Memorial Award for the best Belmont Stakes story. He is a two-time winner of the Joe Hirsch Award and is also the winner of the Eclipse Award, Red Smith Kentucky Derby Writing Award and a two-time winner of the Bill Leggett Breeders' Cup Writing Award. Tom also serves as president of the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters and is a member of the trails planning committee for Pitney Meadows Community Farm in Saratoga Springs.


     Vice President--Lee Briggs

     Secretary--Corine Houry-Kling

     Treasurer--Hilary Claggett

Hilary Claggett moved to Saratoga Springs in 2016 from Chicago and immediately joined the Saratoga Stryders as Treasurer. A 15-time marathon finisher (including Chicago, New York City, San Francisco, and Marine Corps) and a Boston qualifier who finished the 2015 Boston Marathon, Hilary has dabbled in everything from mud runs to trail races to Ragnar to ultras (three 50Ks) but generally prefers road racing. A member of the Fifty States Half Marathon Club, she has run 45 half marathons in 27 states so far since 2009 and has completed a total of more than 200 races. In 2018 Hilary obtained her Level I certification as an RRCA Coach after serving as a Couch to 5K mentor for the Freihofer’s Run for Women in Albany.  Hilary is Senior Acquisitions Editor for Global Business at Georgetown University Press. A double major in politics and Russian studies at UC Santa Cruz, she earned her master’s in international affairs from Columbia University and is Treasurer of the Columbia University Club of Chicago, where she lived for four years before moving back to New York. She can be reached at

Stryders Officers Then and Now is a work in a progress. Please help us fill in the blanks of our history. Email to contribute information about our history.

1984-85 Mary Lou Dolan
1985-86 Les Klein Peter Finley
1986-87 Dennis McGhan
1987-88 Will Kolbe Rich Jones Colleen Farnan Dennis McGhan
1988-89 Bob Kerney Colleen Farnan Ed McGinn Jerry Dingus
1989-90 Chris McKnight Jerry Dingus Melanie Howard Joel Landis
1990-91 Marge Rajczewski Rochelle Fazio Mary Miner Bill Gorgos
1991-92 Dave Nicholas Jan Roth Dennis McGhan Bill Gorgos
1993-94 Jan Roth Michelle Beiter
1994-96 Peter Finley Marge Rajczewski Michelle Beiter, Jim Holser Cathy Taylor
1996-97 Tim Haskins Laura Clark Jim Holser Cathy Taylor
1997-00 Cathy Taylor Laura Clark Bill Taylor Aurora Lamperetta
1/1/2000 Rick McGuirk Laura Clark Chuck Martin Aurora Lamperetta, Cathy Taylor
9/1/2001 Laura Clark Colleen Farnan, Tony and Peg Mangano Chuck Martin, Steve Mastaitis Aurora Lamperetta, Jane Klein
11/1/2009 Rene Cooper Charles Petraske Shaun Donegan Jane Klein
2011-13 Jen Ferriss Charles Petraske Shaun Donegan Jane Mastaitis, Kim Zimbal
2013-14 Frank Lombardo Sue Nealon, Scott Ferri Shaun Donegan, Jamie Mastroianni Kim Zimbal-Donegan
2015-2016 Scott Ferri Peter Finley Jamie Mastroianni Katlin Wenzel
2016-2017 Tom Law Frank Lombardo Jamie Mastroianni Hilary Claggett
2017-2018 Tom Law Frank Lombardo Cori Houry Hilary Claggett
2018-2019 Tom Law Don Proulx Cori Houry Hilary Claggett
2019-2020 Tom Law Don Proulx Cori Houry Hilary Claggett
2020-2021 Tom Law Lee Briggs Cori Houry Hilary Claggett

Copyright Saratoga Stryders, 2021
The Saratoga Stryders, a 501(c)(3) affiliate chapter of the Road Runners Club of America. P.O. Box 1467, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software